If you are interested in becoming a licensed family child care provider, you will need to download a number of documents. Please see Initial Family Child Care Licensing Packet in the Social Services Forms search options.
You may submit your Application, Applicant Background Studies and the Family Child Care licensing fee of $50 to:
Douglas County Social Services
809 Elm St; Ste 1186
Alexandria, MN 56308
If you have questions, you may call Sheri Fish. You will receive a letter informing you of the next scheduled Family Child Care Orientation Meeting.
A Relicensing Family Child Care Packet of documents is also available in the Social Services Forms search options. You may submit your completed relicensing paperwork with the $100 relicensing fee to the above address. This must be submitted at least 90 days prior to your license expiration date.
If you are relocating your day care, please see documents for that packet in the Social Services Forms search options. You may submit your completed relocation paperwork with the $25 relocation fee to the above address. You will receive a call-back once your paperwork is received to schedule the home visit at your new address.
Other Parental Forms regarding family child care licensing are also available in the Social Services Forms search options.
Below are the Rules and Statutes that are pertinent to each of the above categories. We suggest that you visit the State of Minnesota Revisor's website using the link at the right to review and/or print each section applicable to your program license.
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A (Human Services Licensing Act)
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245C (Human Services Background Studies Act)
Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0300 to 9502.0445 (Rule 2)
Minnesota Statutes, Section 176.182 requires every state and local licensing agency to withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or permit to operate a business in Minnesota until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with the workers' compensation insurance coverage requirement of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 176. If the required information is not provided or is falsely stated, it shall result in a $2,000 penalty assessed against the applicant by the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry. A valid workers’ compensation policy must be kept in effect at all times by employers as required by law.
The document to comply with this regulation can be accessed by going to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry website using the link at the right. On the blue bar, click "Workers' Compensation"; then click "Forms" and scroll down to "Certificate of Compliance Minnesota Worker's Compensation Law (MN LIC 04)"