Foster care homes are licensed according rules defined by the MN Department of Human Services. See the Human Services Licensing Act at the State of Minnesota Revisor website. For more information about rules governing Social Services to Adults see Minnesota Administrative Rules Chapter 9555. Chapter 9555.5050 - 9555.6400 are specific to Adult Foster Care Services.
Adult Foster Care Licensing in Douglas County is completed on an individualized basis. Adult foster providers are viewed as small business owners who provide a service. Providers need to have an understanding of care needs of persons in placement as well as the business knowledge to be able to manage self-employment business management needs, Medical Assistance billing and record keeping. Providers will need to complete 6 hours of Orientation in addition to Vulnerable Adult Training and Applicant Background Studies prior to licensure. Most applicants will also need to become enrolled as a Minnesota Health Care Provider prior to accepting residents. Depending upon the type of residents the program will serve, applicants may also need to be licensed under other DHS programs under MN 245D.
Some Adult Foster Care Homes are run by the person living in the home where services are provided (Family Adult Foster Care), while others have several paid staff (Corporate Adult Foster Care). As of July 2009, the Minnesota Department of Human Services issued a state-wide moratorium on the licensing and development of new corporate foster care settings and therefore we are only licensing new family adult foster care providers.
Douglas County Social Services has prepared and organized a number of documents that are used in licensing Adult Foster Care providers. Documents have been provided for the following categories:
Corporate Adult Foster Care Providers with 245D HCBS Program license
Corporate Adult Foster Care Providerw without 245D HCBS Program license
Corporate Adult Foster Care Providers with Mental Health Certification
Family Adult Foster Care Providers with 245D HCBS Program License
Family Adult Foster Care Providers without 245D Program Licenses
In addition, each of these categories have documents designated for an initial license application, the license renewal process, or resident information/adminission docemnts for Family Adult Foster Care Providers without 245D HCBS Program license.
All documents are available through the Social Services Forms search page using the link at the right.
Below are the Rules and Statutes that are pertinent to each of the above categories. We suggest that you visit the State of Minnesota Revisor's website using the link at the right to review and/or print each section applicable to your program license.
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245C
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245D - Corporate AFC with 245D HCBS Program license only
Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.550 to 9555.6265 (Rule 203)
Minnesota Statutes, Section 176.182 requires every state and local licensing agency to withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or permit to operate a business in Minnesota until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with the workers' compensation insurance coverage requirement of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 176. If the required information is not provided or is falsely stated, it shall result in a $2,000 penalty assessed against the applicant by the commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry. A valid workers’ compensation policy must be kept in effect at all times by employers as required by law.
The document to comply with this regulation can be accessed by going to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry website using the link at the right. On the blue bar, click "Workers' Compensation"; then click "Forms" and scroll down to "Certificate of Compliance Minnesota Worker's Compensation Law (MN LIC 04)"